Arashiyama: Bamboo Grove, Kimono Forest

I really had hoped to arrive at Arashiyama Bamboo Grove by 8 am and evade the demon hordes of tourists. Due to a combination of factors, that plan failed miserably. And so we were greeted by a cacophony by all manner of people come from all over the globe. The worst part was when a woman dressed as a geisha began walking through to take pictures with people. She would stop after about 3 paces to pose for photos and the people just coming. The congestion was ridiculous. Despite all, the majesty of the infinite bamboo stalks disappearing into the clear sky could not be discounted.

dsc_0124dsc_0126

Just to add to the magic, I spotted a little hat perched atop the walkway fencing. I would have put it on and walked away with the abandoned souvenir but for its petite size. I wonder if anyone else happened upon it. Where could it be now?

dsc_0164
In spite of my best efforts, I could only reduce the number of tourists to two at least.

dsc_0128

I would have liked the chance to ride this stunning wagon. A shame we didn’t have the time.

dsc_0129
Train to Busan, anyone?

dsc_0135

dsc_0137
My favorite prayer block read: “KAMISAMA BLESS MY GPA.”

dsc_0141

It’s been years in the making, but finally, finally I made my very first prayer to the Shinto gods. “Kamisama, accept my humble offering and grant me a heavenly GPA.”

dsc_0145
I think this is a cemetery. Er… So I’m just going to assume there are no bodies under the forest of memorial stones.

dsc_0161

dsc_0157
But wait-
dsc_0158
It’s easy to get lost in the details.
dsc_0160
“Komorebi” light filtering through the leaves.
dsc_0166
Itadakimasu! An excellent (and inexpensive) bowl of nishin (herring) soba.
dsc_0174
Clearly, I didn’t care to stop eating for the photograph.

There really is nothing like a well-anticipated meal after getting lost in the bamboo. Sanchu is a small food stall just directly outside the Grove. The service, pricing and convenient location can’t be beat. Return to it, I implore you.

dsc_0175

Who defaced the last two buddhas? Ah well. Beauty in the imperfection, as they say.

dsc_0178dsc_0176dsc_0179

See, the attire of the wagon drivers baffled me, to say the least. I don’t see how booty shorts and socks in place of footwear are meant to make their lives any easier.

dsc_0180
Don’t mind me, I’m just one more breathtaking vista Japan has in abundance.
dsc_0184
I love that they paired the purple, retro-looking tram with lavender flowers.

Hearing the words “Kimono Forest” had me racing over to Randem tram station in a flash. It was a bit underwhelming, however. I quickly realized that the rows of lit-up kimono on display don’t have nearly as much impact when there is yet light in the sky. Were it pitch black, the vibrancy and the chroma would have been much better highlighted and appreciated.

dsc_0182dsc_0186H&M skirt | Stradivarius sneakers | From Spain shoulder bag

5 thoughts on “Arashiyama: Bamboo Grove, Kimono Forest

Leave a Reply

