Contour and Highlight Staples

Everyone’s got bloated days. Either you stayed up until 4 in the morning ugly-crying over the Goblin (도깨비) season finale, had just one beer too many at your local watering hole, or pulled an all-nighter to finish a paper you started hours before the deadline- you’ve been afflicted with siopao face. (For those who are unaware, a siopao is a steamed bun.) I just wanted to quickly talk about what products I’ve been using to make my face look more human before I go out!

 

The bronzers I had been using from Western brands (eg. ELF and Maybelline) prior had always been too orange, pigmented, or chalky for my taste. The Too Cool for School Artclass by Rodin Shader (16,000KRW) is a contour kit I’ve been using since I picked it up in Ewha Women’s University Shopping street a month ago. Having spent a good amount of time art studios, a definite lure for me with this was the branding of the Artclass line. The simplistic yet artsy packaging of the products truly resembles serious painting and sketching supplies.

img_20170712_1341251.jpg

This product is a bit different in that it’s not very useful as a contour. It creates a very subtle shadow effect so trying to use this to give yourself the cheekbones you never had will be a lesson in futility. This works best to lightly slim the face when dusted around the sides of your cheeks and under the jaw line. It can also be used to define the nose bridge. As it only comes in one color, only lighter skin tones will benefit from it’s effects.

img_20170712_1341421.jpg

This Super Shock Highlighter in Lunch Money (8USD) is a cream powder highlighter with a soft golden hue. I do believe that its the most popular shade Colourpop has in it’s highlighter range. It was a toss up between this and the color Monster (a pink/violet tinged highlight I thought would look particularly nice for nights out), but ultimately Lunch Money won for it’s day-to-day wearability.

I like to use my fingers to apply this on the high points of my cheeks, along my nose bridge, and on my cupid’s bow. Since Super Shock is a very airy creme formula, Colourpop recommends closing the lid securely in order to protect product integrity. My guess is that the creamy texture might dry out a bit if left exposed for too long.

Above: Colourpop Super Shock Highlighter in Lunch Money, Below: Too Cool for School Artclass by Rodin Shader
cof
I picked up this all-over face brush from Daiso for only 2,000KRW. Such a steal!

Would you try these products? What do you use for highlight and contour?

Ysobel.

3 thoughts on “Contour and Highlight Staples

  1. Always wanted to try out contour and highlight (actually natry ko na pero not sure if di lang ako sanay looking at myself with make-up or ang weird talaga ng outcome when I do it hahaha–never umabot sa pak, ganern level lol) Your contour’s packaging is so cute tho!!

    xo, Lou | Caffeine Rush

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you’re not sure about how your contour is working, I’m thinking maybe the shade of your bronzer might be too orange or glittery?
      That’s the most common problem. Too Cool for School really has quirky and good quality packaging! It’s just kind of hard to find in Manila 😭.

      Like

Leave a Reply

